Historic Hotels of Europe Excellence Awards 2017

News default image 847f63c81372fcf4710777127c8e5c0006552248456a722037fd5f7eb02a8ad7

Historic Hotels of Europe opens Voting for 2017 Excellence Awards

Historic Hotels of Europe (HHE) is inviting past guests and discerning travellers to vote in its fifth annual awards, honouring excellence among almost 500 historic hotels in 18 European countries.

The awards honour the staff and managers of hotels that shine in 10 wide-ranging categories, designed to reflect the breadth of the HHE membership. Each member hotel is unique and each is wrapped inextricably into the history of their location - and of Europe beyond. That’s why the organisation selected ten separate categories for the judging.

“This is our way of saying thank you to the incredible teams that continue to go above and beyond to consistently create wonderfully unforgettable experiences for all our guests,” said Historic Hotels of Europe chairman Barbara Avdis.

“You only have to glance at our previous award winners - from castles to convents, lighthouses to former tobacco stores - to see that the benchmark is impressively high.”

Some of the world’s most illustrious hotels are members of the not-for-profit umbrella company, so competition is fierce for the coveted awards. Previous winners include Aigialos Hotel, in Santorini, Greece. The 16 renovated neoclassical houses that make up the hotel were originally the homes of the island’s noble captain families. Named best historic hotel with a story to tell, the Aigialos charms visitors with its cobbled walkways, overlooking deep blue seas and the island’s volcano.

A special voting page has been set up at www.historichotelsofeurope.com/award.html. 

Barbara added: “Castles, palaces, villas, monasteries and convents - each of our hotels is handpicked for its historical significance and commitment to excellence in hospitality. We know from the feedback we receive from our guests that the teams’ efforts mean our hotels continue to create unique memories for the people who stay in them - the awards is our opportunity to celebrate that.

 “As custodians of the heritage of these historic buildings, it’s important to us that these long histories continue to be told - and added to - in the modern age.” 

The deadline for voting is 31 August 2016. The award winners 2017 will be announced on Sunday 23 October 2016.